Davis Made

A self-improvement and healing blog ~ with a sprinkle of handmade items


Being Neurodivergent: Different Perspectives and How it Historically Affected my Self-Esteem

Before I dive into this topic, I want to acknowledge the lapse in a steady release of fresh self-esteem building content. It is not because I have said all that I have wanted to – definitely not! It is just that I am currently taking two life coaching certification programs and I cannot fully dedicate myself to multiple things at once. I’ve also been fairly quiet on social media and I tend to do this when I’m hard at work! However, a recent connection I made inspired this post and I’ve been really eager to get it out in print.

As I have moved forward with learning about coaching and continuing to coach myself through my emotions and thought processes, I realized that I have carried a specific belief system around with me my entire adulthood. I was carrying it into my present, allowing it to come out randomly and upset me. This belief system – in essence, that my following a passion will be too hard and that I don’t have what it takes emotionally or intellectually to make it happen – has a very specific (and fucking terrible) dialog:

“I’m not smart enough to create my own business.”

“I’m not smart enough to do anything different.”

“Maybe I’m just meant to support others and stay where I am…watch others succeed while I stay stagnant.”

What does being a neurodivergent person have to do with any of this? My brain works differently and it forges unique connections. I feel like it is a super-power at this point because I see obstacles from varying angles and I can, if I may say so, come up with some pretty creative solutions for problems and can reveal where understanding and empathy may be needed. I am a creative and idea-driven person; however, this quality wasn’t always well-received by others…sometimes even people that I loved. There are instances where my perspectives did not line up with another’s and I would be mocked or scoffed at…as if I was not intelligent enough to grasp the topic and formulate coherent thoughts about it.

When evaluating this recently, I realized that the people who “made” me feel intellectually inferior all had one quality in common: They were not able to process, much less listen to, perspectives that varied from their own. This characteristic is a hinderance – how can we learn more about ourselves and others if we are not willing to listen to people who have differing perspectives?

I may not have been (nor currently am) the most mature human on the planet but I am genuinely interested in what other people have to say. Because another’s life experience cannot be the exact same as mine, they can bring a unique viewpoint to the table. Why wouldn’t I want to hear about it and consider it in my own decision-making, problem-solving or personal growth?

Simply put: The people who made me feel like I wasn’t smart enough were not able or willing to conceive that someone else would have a different viewpoint. Perhaps mine challenged and threatened them – I can’t say. I am certainly not going to locate them to ask because truthfully their opinions do not matter to me any longer. Realizing this made me see that I don't need to carry around that belief system any longer. It was one that was shoved upon me and I can choose to let it go.



2 responses to “Being Neurodivergent: Different Perspectives and How it Historically Affected my Self-Esteem”

  1. This reminds me of a conversation with a former boss. She was a co-owner of a highly profitable salon and spa employing 100 people.

    She confided in me that she always felt stupid when she was with other business owners. The cause – in high school her guidance counselor told her she wasn’t very smart and should take cosmetology classes! She still believed that message despite her obvious success in business.

    Like

    1. Stacey L. Davis Avatar
      Stacey L. Davis

      It was such a big AH-HA moment for me to realize that I have been carrying these beliefs that don’t serve me for so long! That the people who made me feel this way – that treated me this way – were allowed (by my brain) to make me feel inferior. Allowed to rob me of my power. Same with your former boss – she had already put the work in to achieve so much and yet was still was affected by belief systems she didn’t ask for.

      Like

Leave a comment

About Me

I am a lover of self-improvement and creativity. This blog represents my healing journey and I created it with the hope that it will not only forge connections across the web, but also provide hope and inspiration to others.

STAY IN TOUCH!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started